Projects / Locale files for South Africa

Locale files for South Africa

Locale files for South Africa is a set of glibc locale files for all of the eleven official languages of South Africa: Afrikaans, English, Ndebele, Northern Sotho, Siswati, Sotho, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa, and Zulu. It includes translations of the months and days of week and correct formats for dates, numbers, and currency.

Operating Systems

Recent releases

  •  19 Apr 2007 20:52

    Release Notes: The international dialing code has been changed from 09 to 00.

    •  13 Oct 2005 17:41

      Release Notes: All month names and weekday names have been validated against the Dept. of Communications: National Language Service's Multilingual Mathematics Dictionary.

      •  09 Nov 2004 22:09

        Release Notes: All South African locale files have been reviewed, updated, and submitted to glibc. Some items in Afrikaans (af_ZA) are controversial and need testing.

        •  28 Feb 2004 07:56

          Release Notes: This release includes Ndebele, Northern Sotho, Siswati, Tsonga, Tswana, and Venda language locales.


          Project Spotlight


          A Fluent OpenStack client API for Java.


          Project Spotlight

          TurnKey TWiki Appliance

          A TWiki appliance that is easy to use and lightweight.